Super Bowl of Trailers

I love football, and of course you know I love movies. I don’t really care for most movie trailers, but here are my thoughts on the big trailer debuts from Sunday’s game anyway. All are either embedded or linked below. And if you only watch one of them, watch Super 8.

Battle: Los Angeles
The trailer is great, but for some reason it doesn’t make me want to see this movie. This is kind of how I felt about District 9. While I liked the concept, the movie didn’t really trigger me with a strong reaction. However, if this were a videogame, I’d totally buy it.
Prospects: The movie is going to have to do a lot to deliver on this promise.

Captain America: The First Avenger
This is the trailer I was most excited/nervous about. Perhaps more than any other movie on this list, I want this one to be good. I mean really good. Some of my favorite works of fiction are pulpy World War II-era tales, and Captain America in his native time period could jump to a place high on that list. The trailer feels brief, and of course doesn’t show much, which actually makes it a great trailer. I like being teased, and this made me want to leave my house and get right in line. The only thing that could make this more epic is if he actually gets to punch Hitler.
Prospects: The Howling Commandoes could be the new Basterds.

Cowboys & Aliens
We have been seeing a rash of alien invasion movies, and I have to admit, this is the only one of the trend that has me really excited. The effects look good and polished, and I’ve never seen a Favreau movie that was truly bad. I want this to be big shiny fun, with a good Harrison Ford performance.
Prospects: Looks like it should meet my (low) expectations.

Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides
The first movie is a modern classic, and that has me excited for the continuing adventures of Jack Sparrow Captain Jack Sparrow. The middle two movies were a big disappointment for me, but I think a Captain Jack outing without Kiera Knightly and Orlando Bloom (but still keeping Geoffrey Rush as Barbossa!) is the direction I always wanted the series to take.
Prospects: Let’s hope this is more Last Crusade than Crystal Skull.

Super 8
Wow. The original teaser was awesome, and I didn’t even realize we were going to see some of this movie Sunday night. Maybe because of that I feel that this is the best trailer I have seen in a long time. It doesn’t reveal too much, and really just tells you all you need to know: this is JJ Abrams doing Spielberg circa 1982.
Prospects: The only way I could be more excited is if they told me that the theater was going to literally be a time machine and take me back to the early days of Spielberg.

Thor
This trailer doesn’t seem to show much that’s new, it just seems like a trimmed down version of this original trailer. I think this movie could be a lot of fun, but then again, seeing someone smack a Frost Giant with a magic hammer is just up my alley.
Prospects: For Midgard!

Transformers: Dark Side of the Moon
That was a sweet trailer. After Transformers 2: The Subtitle I Can’t Remember, I wasn’t really looking forward to this film with anything other than a combination of apathy and inevitability. But man if that trailer wasn’t fun! This is the Michael Bay I secretly loathe love! Explosions! Cool effects! On the other hand, the guy that wrote this is no Orci and Kurtzman, and he also wrote Reindeer Games.
Prospects: Megan who?

