Filmhash List: Rating Fourth of July Blockbusters

In honor of July 4th being one of the ‘big four’ movie weekends, we’re going back over the last 16 years and rating the release from that year, starting in 1995!

Apollo 13 (1995)

This is one of the best movies of all time, hands down.
Grade: A

Independence Day (1996)

This not only started a chain of Will Smith vehicles coming out on July 4th weekend, but also the new disaster movie trend. Still a great movie.
Grade: B-

Men in Black (1997)

One of the all-time great sci-fi comedies. I find myself quoting it often. Jill: And there’s a pug!
Grade:  A-

Armageddon (1998)

The other major trend on this list is Michael Bay, and this is one of his most enjoyable. It’s also appropriate: if there’s anything Michael Bay loves more than explosions and underwear models, it’s America.
Grade: B

Wild Wild West (1999)

Sadly this film is awful, despite how bad I wanted it to be good.
Grade: D

The Patriot / The Perfect Storm (2000)

I really enjoy The Patriot, it’s a great epic. The Perfect Storm didn’t really do anything for me, but it’s decent. Jill: I actually loved Storm…Mark Wahlberg.
Grade: Patriot: B, Storm: C    Jill: Storm: A+++++++++++

Men in Black II (2002)

I’ve actually done everything I can to forget I ever saw this movie. There is no good here. Jill: There’s a pug!
Grade: F

Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines (2003)

Actually pretty decent, all things considered. The ending completely took me by surprise, which was welcome.
Grade: C+

Spider-Man 2 (2004)

The best film in the trilogy, and one of my favorite superhero movies.
Grade: A-

War of the Worlds (2005)

Haven’t seen it. Spielberg + Aliens does not overcome the Tom Cruise factor for me.
Grade: N/A

Superman Returns (2006)

This film is better than its reputation might lead you to believe. It’s a loving tribute to the Donner Superman films.
Grade: B-

Transformers (2007)

The best film in this franchise.
Grade: B-

Hancock (2008)

The first half of this movie is solid, the second half is abysmal.
Grade: D+

Ice Age: Dawn of the Dinosaurs (2009)

I actually haven’t seen any of the films in this franchise.
Grade: N/A

The Twilight Saga: Eclipse (2010)

Not the most interesting film in the franchise visually, but the story was not as mind-numbing.
Grade: C+

Transformers: Dark of the Moon (2011)

Read my review!
Grade:  B-

Happy 4th of July everyone!!!!!!

